Pickled Peppers (Recipe)

 

Recipe Pickled Peppers Nov 11, ’09 11:08 PM
for everyone

 

Category: Appetizers & Snacks
Style: Italian
Special Consideration: Quick and Easy
Servings: 4

 

Description:
I was obviously inspired by “Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers” line today.

However, I do love peppers and pickled peppers make for a delicious antipasto or pizza topping, wouldn’t you agree? Delicious also in pasta sauce, or wherver you would otherwise use peppers.

Ingredients:
1 kg mixed red and yellow peppers
4 basil leaves
2 bay leaves
5 black peppercorns
2 cloves of peeled garlic
1 pint white wine vinegar

Directions:
Preheat the grill to hot. Halve and seed the peppers. Place them skin up and grill for 15 minutes until charred.

Place the peppers in a plastic bag to sweat for 10 minutes. Peel the skin off. Slice the peppers into thick strips then set aside to cool.

Gently bruise the basil leaves between your fingers and put in a sterilized jar with the peppers, peppercorns, herbs and garlic. Add the vinegar.

Seal and use within 6 months.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 11, ’09
Tip: when peeling the charred skin, hold the peppers over a bowl to catch the juice. Which can then be added to the jar when you put all ingredients in.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 11, ’09
Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers,
A peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper picked;
If Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers,
Where’s the peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper picked?

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 11, ’09
Sounds very nice.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 11, ’09
you aren’t allergic to peppers are you John?

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 11, ’09
No Cat, Im not allergic to fruit or vegetables. Only milk.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 11, ’09

No Cat, Im not allergic to fruit or vegetables. Only milk. 

so..cheese is a no-no also? woe and whoa!

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 11, ’09, edited on Nov 12, ’09
Fotunately Cheese has no effect on me so I eat lots of it.

hugzone
hugzone wrote on Nov 11, ’09
Hindi ako mahilig sa pepper, bell or whatever. Hindi rin ako mahilig sa pasta. Siguro kung may baboy. Hehehe.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 11, ’09, edited on Nov 11, ’09
hugzone said

Hindi ako mahilig sa pepper, bell or whatever. Hindi rin ako mahilig sa pasta. Siguro kung may baboy. Hehehe. 

ok, bacon rules…

pasta with bacon bits..or in your case, bacon strips 🙂

ako naman, I love, love peppers…I think it helps my metabolism..or maybe its just an excuse to eat ’em..

bubu34
bubu34 wrote on Nov 12, ’09
mukhang masarap…:)

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09
bubu34 said

mukhang masarap…:) 

even grilled pepper smells amazingly…ewan…masrap din..hehe..

hugzone
hugzone wrote on Nov 12, ’09
cuh888 said

even grilled pepper smells amazingly…ewan…masrap din..hehe.. 

oh my. I think I’ve tried those and they were delicious. saan nga ba yon?

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09
hugzone said

oh my. I think I’ve tried those and they were delicious. saan nga ba yon? 

hmm..you didn’t bring us with you …so can’t tell 🙂

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

Fotunately Cheese has no effect on me so I eat lots of it. 

in that case John, you can eat the Capri salad I talked about…

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
Yes, provided it does not contain American proccessed cheese or lousey English factory produced rubbish.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

Yes, provided it does not contain American proccessed cheese or lousey English factory produced rubbish. 

get good quality mozzarella..and you will be fine…I think you will not have a problem there in your country with cheese…

many a time here, I could groan over the cheese selection and price (how to balance what I want with what is in my pocketbook) 🙂

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
cuh888 said

I could groan over the cheese selection and price (how to balance what I want with what is in my pocketbook) 🙂 

I also groaned a lot in Thailand, nothing worth eating could be found, at least not in Supermarkets, all they had was lousey American proccessed stuff or very poor quality tasteless junk exported by Danish “Arla foods” I don’t think Thais go much for cheese.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

I don’t think Thais go much for cheese. 

hmm..come to think of it, I can’t remember any Thai food I ate which had any cheese at all…

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

all they had was lousey American proccessed stuff or very poor quality tasteless junk exported by Danish “Arla foods” 

oh goodness, I saw the Arla brand here earlier and I just decided to try it 😦 waaaah..why didn’t I know this beforehand…

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
cuh888 said

oh goodness, I saw the Arla brand here earlier and I just decided to try it 😦 waaaah..why didn’t I know this beforehand… 

Sorry, didn’t know you also got it there. We don’t get any of it here, only really good Danish cheese etc.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09, edited on Nov 12, ’09

Sorry, didn’t know you also got it there. We don’t get any of it here, only really good Danish cheese etc. 

ok..*prepares paper and pen*

what are the good brands of Danish cheese..maybe I can ask a former classmate who is working with an importer of cheese and such if they have those…:-)

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
I’ll send a list as a PM.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

I’ll send a list as a PM. 

many thanks John…its ok if you have just top 5…:-)

I can imagine you looking thru the deli there *wink*

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
At the moment I’m cooking my dinner.
lol.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 12, ’09

At the moment I’m cooking my dinner.
lol.
 

bon apetit…it must be breakfast now 🙂

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 12, ’09
cuh888 said

it must be breakfast now 🙂 

555 Yes, I’ve just eaten it and am finishing my coffee before driving my car in for service.

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 13, ’09

555 Yes, I’ve just eaten it and am finishing my coffee before driving my car in for service. 

thanks John for the list of cheeses! I will still look for ’em..though now I really do wish we had something like Star Trek where I can just beam up the cheeses to my kitchen counter from Denmark *grin*

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 13, ’09
cuh888 said

wish we had something like Star Trek where I can just beam up 

You’re welcome.
Now that’s a great idea, could be used for holiday trips too!

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 13, ’09

You’re welcome.
Now that’s a great idea, could be used for holiday trips too!
 

hmm…you’d probably be in Japan 11 months in a whole year…

stormlizard
stormlizard wrote on Nov 13, ’09
555, maybe other places some times though.

skyriver911
skyriver911 wrote on Nov 16, ’09
sarap din for bruschetta with fresh cherry tomatoes ang grilled pickled peppers 😉

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 16, ’09

555, maybe other places some times though. 

ok, but if you drop by here, please bring sure to bring a smidgeon of Stilton 🙂

cuh888
cuh888 wrote on Nov 16, ’09

sarap din for bruschetta with fresh cherry tomatoes ang grilled pickled peppers 😉 

hi Helene, long time no…cook? post here..nag Farmer ka rin ba?

oh yes…that is so munchable…I was going to post bruschetta next…but I prefer to eat muna 🙂

 

Viewing History

Viewed 53 times by 7 people, latest on Nov 16, ’09

Leave a comment