Disperas and on Daddy’s birthday (album)

Nov 22 – 23, 2007. Ciudad sa Sugbu, Nasod sa Pilipinas.

Arrived in Mactan Airport at around 9 pm. Of course – hungry mood! Since I was now the driver because it was night (my dad can still drive around at his age as long as its daylight and at 82 thats not too shabby of dear old pappy)… I thought of passing by Banilad Town Center as it may have a new resto.

On a whim, I just picked out a resto named “Spice Fusion”. Even though it was almost closing time, they let us in and a couple of mouthwatering dishes later, I almost blessed the guard with a hug and a pinch on his cheeks in gratitude.

I was so hungry and the food was devoured so quickly that I had no time to take a picture of it (I did the quickest devouring). But it was good. I say that with enough confidence because my dad is the pickiest eater in the world! I don’t know if his tongue or taste buds have been ruined due to all the smoking and candies he chews on, but its a small miracle by itself if we partake of a meal and he doesn’t have one negative comment about it. I think he was a food critic in his previous life…that or its a side-effect of age creeping up on him πŸ™‚

This time though he was happy with what I ordered and I daringly put more and more snippets of it on his plate after he didn’t comment and just munched on his rice and prawn meat. Thank goodness!….I also told him and my mom that they resembled “taw-taw sa humayan” (scarecrows on ricefields or literally “person-person on a ricefield”) since they were appallingly thin.

My mom loved the mahi-mahi they had as it was also quite tender, with no fishy smell or taste. The sauces they paired it with were spicy – but not too hot to bother my parents and not too mild to make me complain about the lack of heat.

Except for the prawns which I set aside for my dad as he rarely eats much nowadays… all the other dishes were shared with my mom, our helper Rosemarie and moi. I finally topped it off with some sticky rice and mangoes for dessert..and all of us were happy enough to go home and visit dreamland.

The next day, I told my dad I’d treat him to a birthday lunch (he is getting more thrifty as time goes by and refused to have a party)…..this time we went to Cafe Laguna at Ayala – the outdoor branch.

The first branch for this resto was located near the Lahug military camp and was well known for its lengua estofado. Now this is one dish I associate with Cafe Laguna, along with some merienda I used to order e.g. dugo-dugo and puto, sikwate (tsokolate-eh) and bibingka, guinomis, tokwa’t-baboy….to name a few.

We arrived at the resto after the lunch hour and so were able to sit comfortably. With the Ayala Cebu renovation going on, it was disappointing to have one side of the resto facing a blank wall, but the food more than made up for the lack of beautifully balanced scenery. Well, I could have gone to the other branch inside the mall itself but its nice to look out into the sunshine and dream of days gone by.

I ordered the lengua estofado (a bit different from our other favorite lengua which comes from Beehive on Ramos St. in Cebu and usually paired with a lovely crusty warm french bread). I added crispy fried pork belly, and the usual fish dish for my mom – this time I chose a delicately flavoured lapu-lapu escabeche…ah! the memories of this dish when cooked by my mom and maternal grandma when she was still alive (God Bless her soul) made me hanker for it once more.

Afterwards, we dropped by Ayala Mall to see the new grocery of Rustan’s. They had moved out from their original building which was located beside my alma mater, St. Theresa’s College (Mango Ave. or known also as Gen. Maxilom Ave., Cebu City) . They have one more outlet near the Convergys office in Guadalupe if I am not mistaken.

Ayala Cebu also made an extension of one side of its building…and I laughed out loud when aside from seeing the other newly opened branded stores missing in Cebu before…I also saw a lot of people crowding inside the Crocs store. I remembered Ms G. but who could buy any pair of shoes at all when we customers slithered like irritated fish in a crowded aquarium-tank in the outlet?

After flitting from one shop to another and checking the goods and on-sale items, my parents refused merienda or early dinner (to me and my stomach’s disappointment) and we made off with the groceries we had bought, then went home. And that was how my dad’s official day for turning 82 years of age went.

Not too worry though as I had asked a favor from one of my college buddies to see if we could visit their resthouse by the sea in Alcoy, a town about 91 km from Cebu City going towards the southern part of the island.

My last visit has probably been in the last century (meaning late 1990s!!). For good measure, I asked Benjie and her kids (who were suffering from piskat or sore eyes) to come along so we could start on a mini-reunion (see Patio Isabel reunion on who Benjie and my other college buddies are).

Of course, I begged her to bring some lechon and meat for grilling too as I certainly missed the smells of this kind of food while in Manila. That was to happen the next day. The promise of puso (hanging rice) and smell of grilled meat was what my dreams were made of that night.

–Β Dec 6, ’07 12:35 AM

One thought on “Disperas and on Daddy’s birthday (album)

  1. delete reply
    jnuguid wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    May salamin pala si Santa Claus.

    delete reply
    jnuguid wrote on Dec 6, ’07, edited on Dec 6, ’07

    Kahit anong “pakals, so habhab”, mukhang masarap ang ulam nyo.

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    sarap nga ng lengua (ox tongue) at escabeche (usually lapu-lapu with a sweetish brown sauce and bits of carrots)..

    well, pork belly is pork belly…

    delete reply
    jnuguid wrote on Dec 6, ’07
    Cat, nag pu-puyat ka nanaman, ha?

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 6, ’07
    di na po…last post ko na to kc parang gusto ko managinip ng pork schnitzel…bumalik sa aking isipan nang napansin ko ang pork belly dito…

    delete reply
    oselle wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Hi Mommy, it’s nice to see you here. πŸ™‚

    delete reply
    oselle wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Hi Daddy. πŸ™‚

    Cat, mas hawig mo yata daddy mo πŸ™‚

    delete reply
    oselle wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Belated Happy Birthday Daddy πŸ™‚

    *makiki-daddy na ko ha cat?*

    delete reply
    oselle wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    wow, sarap! gusto ko yung pork belly, and lapu-lapu.

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    cuh888 said
    pork belly is pork belly
    You can’t go wrong with pork belly – one of my favorites. My other belly favorites? Salmon belly, tuna belly, and bangus belly (the only part I eat).

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    cuh888 said
    lengua (ox tongue)
    I don’t know why, but Canadians don’t eat lengua.

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Hi Mom, makiki Mom na rin po ako, just wanted to tell you, like Oselle, that I am very happy to see you with our Cat:-)

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on Dec 6, ’07
    I always like reading your weblogs, Cat. masarap kang magkuwento πŸ™‚ Masarap din kasi ang ikinukuwento mo, hihihi

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Nice….Happy birthday po…

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    naku naman, ang sarrrrrrap naman…lalo na yung cholesterol-ridden liempo! Paborito ko yan, basta may gamot naman! πŸ™‚

    delete reply
    chitoirigo wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Hi Mother Cat! Nice to see you and your kitten. Meoooowww!!!!

    delete reply
    chitoirigo wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    Happy birthday to Cat Dad.

    delete reply
    skyriver911 wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    makiki happy birthday na rin ako to your dad, Cat πŸ˜‰

    delete reply
    skyriver911 wrote on Dec 6, ’07

    they’re surely so happy to bump with you πŸ˜‰

    delete reply
    palattydpiggy wrote on Dec 6, ’07
    Hello Catherine,

    Don’t know if you remember me but we were together one time at Tito Rudy’s house – I can’t remember the occassion anymore…was it Christmas dinner or New Year’s? Anyway, just to remind you, I’m your cousin Marlene’s daughter (owner of Tindcer Box in Cebu), and my darling Lola is your Tita Nena (your Dad’s eldest sister).

    Just wanted to say hello, and please tell your Mom and Dad I send my regards (belated Happy Birthday Tito Nene!), too. I’m now based in the UK where I live with my husband Colin. You can check my Multiply page and take a look at our wedding pictures. You’ll see that Mama and my younger sister Aziza were here to attend our civil ceremony.

    Hope to hear from you. If I may, I’d like to say advanced Happy Holidays!

    Gillene Moreno-Felstead

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07, edited on Dec 8, ’07

    hi Oselle,

    makakarating yung mga hi’s and hellos mo to mommy and daddy groovy…in fact I mention and describe the antics of the friends I have found in Multiply…unfortunately di lang computer-savvy si fafa and momsky so my mom just listens when I talk to her on the phone or sees you guys and gals on this site if I am in Cebu and naka-internet..hehehe…

    by all means, go ahead and call them mommy and daddy…even some of my college barkada has taken to calling them like that…(parang dumami ang kanilang anak instead of only child lang sana hehehe!)

    (at least …para di naman ako lang mag-isa at my age who call their mom as “mommy” (para kasing pambata di ba? parang dapat I should move on to Mom, Mama, Mother, Mader, Mutter, Madre etc.)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07

    oselle said
    Hi Daddy. πŸ™‚

    Cat, mas hawig mo yata daddy mo πŸ™‚
    *grin* I remember one Multiplier saying mas kahawig ko mader dear ko…

    actually combi ako sa kanilang dalawa…but my dad proudly points out yung dimples daw galing sa kanya oi…kc wlang anino of a dimple maski sa knees si madre mia…(not that my dad has any on his knees or butt!)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07
    cyfunk said
    Masarap din kasi ang ikinukuwento mo, hihihi
    hehe..thanks Choie..simple lang kaligayan…ika nga one-track mind…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07, edited on Dec 8, ’07

    chitoirigo said
    Happy birthday to Cat Dad.
    to Choie, Chito and Helene!

    thanks for the thoughts you have posted for my dad’s birthday…sinasabi ko sa kanya lahat ng bday greetings binibigay even if di nya kilala personally and di nya na matang-bola..

    ….natutuwa naman sya..sample na sasabihin ko (sa text ko sa kanya) –

    daddy.. nag greet sa yo si {insert name of Multiplier here} – isang dalubhasang director sa pagluluto na may kakaibang talento bilang isang architect pero nandun sa America ngayon at nagwork sya before with my classmate sa AIM..pero ang hilig-hilig nya ng numbers and statistics which gamit sa trabaho sa nya sa NFA (ginawang isang tao pala sina Helene, Choie and Chito at sino pang iba..mwahaha!)

    of course makalimutin nga lang..sasabihin nya siguro after an hour or so…ulitin mo nga yung descrption mo nong taong yon (who can blame my poor dad?)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07

    jnuguid said
    May salamin pala si Santa Claus.
    kc cute si Santa Claus….and since si Jack ay cute rin..abah..kaya pala nakasalamin din! hehe…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07, edited on Dec 8, ’07

    bananaking69 said
    one of my favorites. My other belly favorites? Salmon belly, tuna belly, and bangus belly (the only part I eat).
    sarap nga nya BNK…bacon, pork belly, kinapusan (what we call those fried pieces of pork belly which have been fried to draw their oil out) etc.

    pero ewan..di ako kumakain ng belly ng isda…not even bangus which is one of my fave fishes to have for breakfast (deep fried bangus, paired with perfectly scrambled eggs or pwede ring sunny side up and with a heap of sliced tomatoes on the side, then may knorr seasoning or Rufina patis for dip)…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07, edited on Dec 8, ’07

    bananaking69 said
    I don’t know why, but Canadians don’t eat lengua.
    if tender na tender yung lengua…its sometimes even better than the meat we get…

    can’t blame them though, I only got exposed to lengua because of my dad’s fondness for spanish dishes etc.

    wag lang yung totoong lengua de gato ha..at patay tayo nyan…bwahaha!

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07

    my mom and I came from the same college…so jam din si mom sa kanila although ibang generation of teachers na to…

    therefore mga alumni homecomings…may partner in crime ako kasama…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 8, ’07
    hi Gillene!

    Yes, I remember you! We met before during a New Year’s party at Tita Helene’s house in Broadway years and years ago…and Julie-Ann, Bubbles and Blossom ..and let’s see..Camille …were still young ‘uns. I still have the pictures and scanned them somewhere since we also went to Baguio afterwards if you recall.

    Yes, the most recent one event we were together was at Tito Rudy’s house, it was Christmas 2006..and sadly that was the last Christmas dinner I had spent in the company of Tita Nena. I kept her Christmas greetings text to me in my cellphone would you believe? nag-senti ko diri.

    I’m puzzled though as to how you happened across my post here in Multiply about Dad’s birthday. I’m pleased and somewhat bemused since among the cousins, it was mostly Manong Baby and sometimes Ate Rora that I got to talk to instead of their next generation/brood (waah..naclaro na akong edad!)…

    It will surely surprise my dad too when I tell him how you came to send your regards and birthday greetings thru Multiply. Were you already married when I saw you last at Alabang? Belated congratulations! I will surely check the pics and add you as a contact…

    Thanks heaps for posting the message, it would be enjoyable to hear of your life and experiences there in the UK. But I think anad ka na..coz di ba you worked with Ate Rora before….all that travelling around will make you accustomed to living life outside of the Philippines *grin*

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on Dec 8, ’07
    Cat, please give my birthday greetings to your dad. I wish him well. May he have many more happy birthdays to come.

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 9, ’07
    makakarating BNK! thanks for the greeting!

    delete reply
    meannlim wrote on Dec 9, ’07
    My very belated birthday greetings to daddy-o!! more more more to come!
    uy! only child ka pala…i never knew that…that is a revelation to me!

    how was bataan? UP diliman? ano pa ang gimmick mo cat?

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 20, ’07
    hi MeAnn…makakarating din ang greetings mo..hehehe..thank you..will tell him in person when I go home (pohon) this December.

    Corregidor was ok..ayun nakapost na..with your naughty comments nauna pa *wink*…Cavite pala naghandle non..di Bataan…

    UP Diliman – ayan..mukhang next year na ako balik don..ang hirap lang yata is that I would not dare do public commute don if magkaka-SLR man ako

    eto..Christmas parties from one end to another..pero pinili ko yung importante at baka magka-indigestion pa ako…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Dec 20, ’07
    additional pics posted starting with picture labeled 01.

    A visit to Gaisano Country Mall for some groceries…
    A quaint Italian resto by the side of the road which was a mix of native (Pilipino grass shack) and Italian deli…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Nov 8, ’09

    Address:
    Garden Row 1, Biliran Road
    Cebu Business Park, Cebu City

    for first-time visitors, just hop on a taxi and ask them to take you to Ayala Mall or to Cafe Laguna, and specify its the garden cafe (coz the other one is inside the Ayala Mall)

    tel# as of this writing: +63 32 2338600

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Nov 8, ’09

    some recommendations:

    roti and pork/ chicken satay for your appetizers;

    Chili crab, chili prawn (e basta chili!) for the main dish..

    we had a mango-dish for our dessert…oh well, this coming trip or in December…will go and take pictures of all I can chow down πŸ™‚

Leave a comment