3rd day SF – Day with Choie! Haight St etc. (Photo Album)

San Francisco, May 14, 2007 – Jerry dropped me off early morning at Choie’s domain where I unabashedly chomped on breakfast, engaged in conversation with Choie while trying to keep up with her whirling around her kitchen in preparation for dinner with us that night. Isobel was delighted we would go to Haight as it seems to be one of her fave places to visit (did I hear “Amoeba!” uttered ecstatically somewhere?) and after a quick visit to the Glenn’s office to pick up something to fortify us…we went whizzing off to the BART. Choie was my instructor in all things BART and I was thankful, since this meant I could go gallivanting about as long as I could find my way back to the train station.

The rest of the day was spent in fun, esoteric and kaleidoscopically colorful Haight St. Little did I know what I was letting myself in for when I asked if we could just walk (the better to explore it my dear)….Choie and Isobel were game, but I think I got winded half-way through…hehehe…I was interested in looking also at the gay section of Castro, but 1 day in Haight-Ashbury wasn’t even enough. Meandering through different shops, while stopping by once in a while to pose and take pictures, it was an exhilirating experience to step back in time. A pizza lunch plus refreshments (tea!) at the quaint Red Victoria b&b (I want to try staying here in the future) were some of the highlights…and before we left the “needs-a-second-visit” district, we managed to get some owls for Hugzone…whew!

Ok, so I fell asleep on the way back to Choie’s house..and Isobel had to miss a class too and Choie was kind enough to let me snore in a spare room (plus she got the kinks out of my system when I woke up, by treating me to a great back massage!). Jerry had to beg off from dinner as Choie quoted him as saying he was already “durog” with all the meetings, but Roehl made it (well he should, who else would drive me back home with him..hehehe)…

Since I was hungry, I left it to the other grown-ups (ehem) to talk more and more, and concentrated on food..I had a couple of helpings of everything, ‘cept for the dessert because by that time I think I was ready to burst out of my turtlneck…hehehe…

Ah..I wish I could have spent more delightful time with them…but I’ve got my pictures and I’ve got some pasalubongs….so I am perfectly happy to become part of their lives for one whole day…(pics again will be posted sporadically, when I have good internet connection).

– May 28, ’07 5:11 AM

 

One thought on “3rd day SF – Day with Choie! Haight St etc. (Photo Album)

  1. delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 28, ’07

    yummm .. naubos mo ba yan Cat? =)

    delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 28, ’07

    yes please ! and yes to that victorian building ! =)

    delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 28, ’07
    lovely pics ! i’d like to visit Haight St someday ! =)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 28, ’07

    gnglucy said
    yummm .. naubos mo ba yan Cat? =)
    di ah..hiya ako eh..*blush* hehehe

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 28, ’07, edited on May 28, ’07
    gnglucy said
    lovely pics ! i’d like to visit Haight St someday ! =)
    Roehl (I stayed at his family’s house) wryly commented that I was even going to places in Sanfo that he hasn’t even seen (and I think he has been there a decade na!)..feeling daw nya sya yung turista at kabisado ko na daw yung mga places to really see in SF. Well, thanks to Choie and her family, I didn’t miss this street…baka hanggang Alcatraz lang ako..hehe

    One thing I also missed was the Golden Gate Park…I would have enjoyed seeing the Conservatory of Flowers and the Japanese garden…next time sana!

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 28, ’07

    gnglucy said
    yes please ! and yes to that victorian building ! =)
    there are really numerous interestingly decorated buildings in this street…I haven’t even photographed all those I found memorable…yung mga 60’s, 70’s na dekada and mga tibetan, indian, at kung ano pa na cultures na shops nandito…definitely something not to miss while in Sanfo..

    delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 28, ’07, edited on May 28, ’07

    on the right or on the left? =)

    ganesh yata yan, a hindu god elephant ..

    delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 28, ’07

    ohh .. my boys would love these =) si davit ba ‘yon? ang tangkad nya !

    you’ve added some photos Cat, ang galing !

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on May 28, ’07
    cuh888 said
    One thing I also missed was the Golden Gate Park…I would have enjoyed seeing the Conservatory of Flowers and the Japanese garden…next time sana!
    You missed a lot more. Good reason to come back.

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on May 28, ’07

    I hope you know what the rainbow symbolizes, most specially in San Francisco.

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07

    Maganda ka talaga pag busog. hahaha!

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07

    Serious!

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07

    I also collect t-shirts. Weakness ko yan. : )

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07

    That’s a lovely ganesh!

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07
    A lot of SanFo residents don’t see much of their city because they always have this frame of mind that ahh these places are always there for them to see, not thinking that time quickly passes by. My sister, who lives at the heart of the city and who has been there for almost twenty years, is also surprised that I get to see more of Sanfo when I am there.

    delete reply
    hugzone wrote on May 28, ’07
    Haight-Ashbury is one of the SanFor areas that gwiz and I enjoy. Amoeba is a favorite place. Did you also eat at Pork Shop? Sarap don!

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on May 29, ’07
    hugzone said
    residents don’t see much of their city because they always have this frame of mind that ahh these places are always there for them to see, not thinking that time quickly passes by.
    This is true for any resident. We take our city for granted, not thinking that our city has a lot to offer that we’re missing out on. I’m guilty of this myself.

    Guilty even when I lived in the Philippines. I never saw much of the Philippines – only Baguio, and some parts of the north like Ilocos Norte and Nueva Vizcaya, and our home province Tarlac. Tha farthest south I’ve been to was Los Banos.

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on May 29, ’07

    hugzone said
    I also collect t-shirts. Weakness ko yan. : )
    ooops, Cat…sayang.:-P

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07
    actually, I don’t have any clue what the rainbow would symbolize (I hope na di ako leprechaun standing at the end..)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    hugzone said
    Maganda ka talaga pag busog. hahaha!
    hmm…therefore, since this was before dinner..and di pa ako busog…di ako maganda…*fountain of tears*

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    gnglucy said
    ohh .. my boys would love these =) si davit ba ‘yon? ang tangkad nya !

    you’ve added some photos Cat, ang galing !
    I will be adding more pics as soon as I can find where I placed them…to this and other albums…yung makatiming tumingin don ulit sa ibang albums ko may be amused, coz some of the previously censored pics may be posted na…bwahaha! (pero won’t tell when para element of surprise)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    gnglucy said
    ohh .. my boys would love these =) si davit ba ‘yon? ang tangkad nya !

    you’ve added some photos Cat, ang galing !
    thats Glenn and his eldest son…they are a cool tandem…pwede sila maging 1 band..
    Comment deleted at the request of the author.

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    cyfunk said
    ooops, Cat…sayang.:-P
    oo nga e..di ba sabi ko either owl or tshirt para kay Sir B…
    well, I did buy one from Sattui na winery..bigay ko sana kay hugzone..pero at second glance, di sya arresting-looking e..not like the shirts here…so…inarbor ko na…hehehe…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07, edited on May 29, ’07
    hugzone said
    Did you also eat at Pork Shop?
    really?! paging Choie next time..hehehe…parang puro yata pork lang nandon ah…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    hugzone said
    That’s a lovely ganesh!
    reminds me actually of Ganesh, our classmate…
    Comment deleted at the request of the author.

    delete reply
    cyfunk wrote on May 29, ’07, edited on May 29, ’07
    cuh888 said
    puro yata pork
    gosh, I think I saw that shop!!! But then again, truth be told, I am a bit wary of hypercholesterol offerings…pero, lekat, meron ngapalang gamot naman, so baket ba???!!!!

    CAT! the next time to come back (di ba BNK said you a lot of reasons to do so) let’s check this one out! Ok, girl?

    delete reply
    bananaking69 wrote on May 29, ’07, edited on May 29, ’07
    cuh888 said
    I don’t have any clue what the rainbow would symbolize
    The rainbow is a symbol of gays and gay pride, and in the case of business establishments it means gay-friendly. A car with a rainbow sticker, or a store, restaurant, salon, etc with a rainbow on the door or window is owned by gays or is gay-friendly. On your next visit to San Francisco, check out Castro Street.

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07
    cyfunk said
    the next time to come back (di ba BNK said you a lot of reasons to do so) let’s check this one out! Ok, girl?
    yes, let’s! am sure between then and now, there may be other out of the way places which other people can tell us about pa…or some may spring out of the Sanfo earth in unlikely areas…(imagines Siopao and Dimsum place sa gitna ng San Ramon hehehe)

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07
    bananaking69 said
    never saw much of the Philippines – only Baguio, and some parts of the north like Ilocos Norte and Nueva Vizcaya, and our home province Tarlac. Tha farthest south I’ve been to was Los Banos.
    As for me, I lack more of the Northern part of the Phils. Thanks to HOSL job of mine, I got to be pretty familiar with Visayas and Mindanao area – from Bacolod, Iloilo, Cebu (of course), Tacloban, all the way to Butuan, Cagayan de Oro, Iligan, Pagadian, General Santos, Davao and last but not the least (and one of my faves) Zamboanga.

    Sa Luzon, ngek, hanggang Baguio lang ako…I remember one time I was volunteering to be the one to go to Vigan (even if the usual guy was saying ma bore daw ako don). Unfortunately though, by the time Palawan service center opened, I was leaving the company na. Sayang.

    Hence this is why I like Susan Medina’s Travel Time…esp when concentrate sya sa food..ehem…

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07

    gnglucy said
    on the right or on the left? =)

    ganesh yata yan, a hindu god elephant ..
    baka meaning mo..kailan ko mag “diet”…kaya di na “deity” but ‘diety-diety” hehehe

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on May 29, ’07
    yeah, I missed Castro. Kaiyen was telling me how fantabulous it was during Halloween season where you can see all these drag queens dressed to the nines…

    delete reply
    gnglucy wrote on May 30, ’07

    cuh888 said
    baka meaning mo..kailan ko mag “diet”…kaya di na “deity” but ‘diety-diety” hehehe
    hehehe … naka-score ka ha =)

    delete reply
    kaiyen70 wrote on May 31, ’07
    love Haight-Ahsbury! one of my favorite neighborhoods in the city.

    delete reply
    faitherasmo wrote on Jun 2, ’07

    Who is?

    delete reply
    faitherasmo wrote on Jun 2, ’07

    Grabe ang ku-cute!

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Jun 3, ’07

    faitherasmo said
    Who is?
    Ah..you have to ask Choie about this Faith…she and Isobel read the explanation on the wall beside this particular goddess…earth ba yon?

    delete reply
    faitherasmo wrote on Jun 3, ’07

    cuh888 said
    particular goddess
    Kunwari ka pang di mo nakuha yung ibig sabihin ko. Who is the goddess? Ikaw ba o yung nasa background. Duh. Fishing! =)
    Comment deleted at the request of the author.
    Comment deleted at the request of the author.

    edit delete reply
    cuh888 wrote on Jun 3, ’07

    faitherasmo said
    Who is the goddess? Ikaw ba o yung nasa background. Duh. Fishing! =)
    ngek…really was thinking you were asking sino yang nasa wall..

    …kc…isip ko sa sarili ko…am beyond the level of a goddess! *smirks*

    delete reply
    faitherasmo wrote on Jun 3, ’07

    cuh888 said
    am beyond the level of a goddess!
    Ay sus. Kaya naman pala di pumasa si Adonis e!

Leave a comment