Bugs = Bane

Being part of the IT world, especially software development, means I am not a stranger to bugs…either of my own making *blush*, someone else’s fault *glare* or just plain vanilla mysterious bugs which pop out of the blue when you least expect it. *swats at bugs in programs of other people*

But now, its just not bugs in the systems I’ve been trying to test (yes Virginia, even a PM is obliged once in a while to help test system versions out for release), I’ve been laid low by this fever/chills/tonsilitis/cough/colds/watery eyes combo.

The bad thing is that I can’t also keep on going on sick leave because the mountain of emails waiting for me at the office is steadily increasing and my personal laptop is emulating a dodo at this moment.

So here I am at the office, praying to the saint-in-charge of pesky germs (maybe Michael the Archangel with his sword pointing at these microbes) that I get well soon because I really want to eat good food and taste it. All these antibiotics are messing with my natural healthy appetite for viands and desserts. Imagine I ate 2 bars of home-made brownies made by a kumare of mine and it just really tasted like I was chewing on paper…the shock of it!

Bad as it was, there was only 1 minute and 35 seconds (yes, counted em!)  when I felt sorry for myself while I was swaddled in my blankets and sweating the fever out. I really missed my mom at that point. *sigh* Strangely I didn’t miss having a boyfriend who could commiserate with my woes during that time, which goes to show…blood is really thicker than water.

Its always been my theory though that if you just lie down in bed day after day with your sickness, you just get more sick…..sick of the room, sick of the bland taste of porridge which you have to cook coz you are living on your own, sick of the tv shows and reruns and sick of the sickness. So its good to be up and about even if one is not completely well.

Of course, now that I am in the office, I miss my sick bed, man its really weird…

– Oct 18, ’06 3:14 PM

Leave a comment